About the Society: The Committee


We are a registered charity, and our governing structure consists of a Committee whose members are also Trustees. There are sub-committees that deal with Planning and Publications.

The current Committee was elected at the AGM of 13 March 2019.

Hon. President: Bill Kirby

Colin Wight Colin Wight | Chair:

A member of the Committee since 2004, Colin also maintains the website and social media platforms. He is in his seventh year as Chair. Before retiring (from paid employment!) in 2015 Colin worked in tourism, publishing and events management, then edited the British Library website for over a decade. He lead our First World War research project. Colin is also on the Committee of the Herne Hill Forum and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.

Laurence Marsh Laurence Marsh | Vice-Chair:

A retired barrister and editor, Laurence has been on the Committee since 2008. He leads the Planning and Research groups.

Martyn Hall | Treasurer: Martyn has lived in Herne Hill since 1997 and has worked for a number of charities.

Patrick Roberts | Secretary : Pat has lived in Herne Hill for over 30 years. He works as an independent communications consultant. He is a member of the Magazine editorial group and our PR expert.

Download job descriptions for the officers [PDF]

Henry Ferguson: A former IT Technician, Henry has livied in Herne Hill since 2005. His interests lie in how local communities change. He has two young children at local primary schools.

Jackie Plumridge: Jackie manages our catering at events and helps out on our bookstall.

Val Suebsaeng: A retired Children and Families Social Worker and manager with over 40 years experience of London local authorities, Val is our Membership Secretary and Data Protection Officer.

AGM Reports and Committee Minutes

Meet us at our events or write to us at:

The Herne Hill Society
PO Box 27845
SE24 9XA

Contact us online